During-effort fuel · drink mix · reviewed 28 Aug 2026
Skratch Labs Sport Hydration Drink Mix 43
400 mg of sodium per scoop is Skratch's standard hydration target, but the 19 g of carbs behind it is a fraction of what's in Skratch's own Super High-Carb Sport Drink Mix, and more than six times GU Hydration Tabs' 3 g, putting this squarely between a straight electrolyte tab and a fueling drink.
Score breakdown
Each dimension below is scored 0 to 100 against a fixed scale, not against the rest of the catalog, so adding a product never moves this number. The overall score is the average of the dimensions this product declares data for. How the scales are set →
Comparison
5 of 17 drink mixes heldPrices per single sachet at the cheapest box size we track. Best in green, worst in red, across the gels shown.
| Measure | Skratch Labs Skratch Labs Sport Hydration Drink Mix | Tailwind Nutrition Tailwind Endurance Fuel | Skratch Labs Skratch Labs Super High-Carb Sport Drink Mix | Maurten Maurten Drink Mix 320 | Science in Sport SiS Beta Fuel 80 Drink Mix |
|
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Overall scoreAn average of the various variables measured. | 43 | 48 | 50 | 65 | 66 | |
| CarbohydrateHow much fuel one scoop carries. | 19 g | 25 g | 50 g | 80 g | 80 g | |
| Glucose : fructoseGoverns how fast you absorb it. More fructose, higher ceiling. | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | 1 : 0.8 | |
| SodiumAgainst 400 to 1000 mg an hour typically lost in sweat. | 400 mg | 310 mg | 200 mg | 245 mg | 4 mg | |
| ProvenanceWhether that ratio is read off the panel, computed from it, or inferred. | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Stated | |
| Price per scoopWhat one costs. Not comparable across scoop sizes. | $1.20 | $1.03 | $2.62 | $3.64 | $3.87 | |
| Cost per gramThe only price that compares across scoop sizes. | 6.3 cents | 4.1 cents | 5.2 cents | 4.5 cents | 4.8 cents | |
| Scoops for 90 g/hrHow many you open an hour to hold a 90 g/hr target. | 4.7 | 3.6 | 1.8 | 1.1 | 1.1 |
Verdict
what it does · what it costsWhat it does well
- 400 mg sodium and 19 g carbs per scoop, more fuel than a tablet-based electrolyte like GU's 3 g Hydration Tabs
- Nine ingredients, led by cane sugar and dextrose, with real mango powder for flavor and color instead of artificial dyes
- Zero caffeine in the base Mango flavor, with a +50 mg caffeine version sold at the same 400 mg sodium dose
What it costs you
- 19 g of carbs per scoop is overkill next to a near-zero-carb electrolyte tablet like Precision's PH 500 (3 g)
- Sodium is the only electrolyte broken out on the label; potassium, calcium, and magnesium are present but not given per-serving mg amounts
- At roughly $1.20 a serving, more expensive per serving than GU's 67 cents Hydration Tabs
Where to buy
Prices and links as last checked. The price next to the name above is per unit at the cheapest box size we track; a single-unit price below may run higher.
Who this is for
the numbers, appliedThe field tells you what it is. This is who should act on it.
Worth the money if
- You want a sports drink that delivers real carbohydrate alongside electrolytes during 1-2 hour efforts
- You prefer whole-ingredient formulas (cane sugar, real fruit powder) over synthetic sweeteners
Look elsewhere if
- You're doing fasted or low-carb training and want Precision's 3 g-carb PH 500 or a zero-sugar tablet instead
- You need documented mg-level potassium, calcium, and magnesium numbers for a race plan; Skratch doesn't break them out per serving